August 14th, 2015

  1. She’s from Russellville, Alabama

I grew up in Russellville, Alabama, a small town that is located 30-45 minutes from the nearest mall. We are proud of our local school, Phil Campbell High School, which recently moved into a new building after being destroyed by the 2011 tornadoes. PCHS is a Blueprints College Access Initiative partner school, and I’ll be working with Phil Campbell students and visit with my family during my free time.

  1. She’s an Auburn Tiger

I started my college career at AP Higher Education Partner Northwest-Shoals Community College and went on to earn my bachelor’s degree from Auburn University. I majored in psychology and minored in social work. While studying at Auburn, I also took several courses in human development and family studies (HDFS). Alongside my coursework, I worked in a computer lab and interned with both a child abuse prevention program and an adolescent substance abuse program.

  1. She cares about nonprofits

In college, I wanted to be a marriage and family therapist. After graduating, I decided to follow a different path and took a job in the mental health field. After that experience, I started a master’s in public administration (MPA) program at Troy University. While in the program, I concentrated on nonprofit management. I’m excited to announce that I graduated from that program this summer. Through my experiences in the program, I found that nonprofit work is my passion. Specifically, I want my work in the nonprofit sector to support people who are not always given a chance to share their voices.

  1. She’s moving to the beach one day

Eventually, I would like to live at the beach. I don’t really care which one, just a beach. To me, the beach is a peaceful, carefree place. I love the water, especially the waves.

  1. She has many hobbies

I love watching movies. I especially enjoy action movies and sappy movies. I also enjoy spending time on the water – maybe because I grew up on Cedar Creek. Although my art projects do not always come together, I still enjoy arts and crafts because I think that it’s a relaxing activity. I am also addicted to Pinterest.

  1. She is excited to start her work as an AmeriCorps*VISTA

While I was searching for jobs after graduation, I came across an Americorps*VISTA position on LinkedIn. It immediately sparked my interest, so I visited the AmeriCorps*VISTA website to learn more about the program. After a few minutes of research, I basically applied for every open position in Alabama, and, thankfully, I was placed with Alabama Possible. During my year of service, I would like to experience every area of the organization. Most of my nonprofit experience has been learned from a textbook, so I am excited to have the opportunity to gain some first-hand experience.

  1. She thinks we need to change the way that we think and talk about poverty

Poverty affects many people, and it is more widespread than we care to admit. I think that we need to pay more attention to systemic poverty, and I believe that we need to work harder to understand how it affects individuals, families and communities. I think that we need to change the way that we think and talk about poverty.

  1. She has a big goal

While working with Alabama Possible, my goal is to increase the number of Phil Campbell students who apply for college and fill out the FAFSA form. I’ve been asked to work with the school because I grew up in the area and have longstanding relationships with members of the community. I am also excited that Northwest Shoals is a Blueprints partner – that’s where I started out my college career.

  1. She’s new to Birmingham and loving it

One of the best parts of Birmingham is the fact that there so many things to do at any given time. I am excited to explore the city and try new things.

  1. She’s a picky eater

Growing up, my meal choices included chicken fingers and French fries, and I would only eat peanut butter sandwiches for lunch. As I have gotten older, I have started trying new things, depending on ingredients and appearance. I have started enjoying a few Chinese and Mexican dishes. Hopefully, while I’m living in Birmingham, I will explore even more food options.