University of Alabama Alumni Association Recognizes Top Award Recipients

University of Alabama Press Release

May 14, 2008

The University of Alabama National Alumni Association recently announced the winners of its outstanding student and alumni awards.

The NAA acknowledged and honored an alumna and alumnus of UA for their contributions to the University and the NAA. Selection for the Distinguished Alumni Awards is based on loyalty and service to the University and the NAA, character and personal life, professional achievement or success in a chosen endeavor and community service on the local, state or national level.

The 2008 Distinguished Alumna Award winner is Mary Allen Jolley of Moundville and the 2008 Distinguished Alumnus Award winner is John D. Clements of Birmingham.

Jolley, a native of Ward, received her bachelor’s degree in education from UA in 1951. Following graduation, she worked for Congressman Carl Elliot and helped enact the National Defense Education Act of 1958, which became the first national student loan program.

Jolley also helped establish the Washington Chapter of the National Alumni Association and later served as vice president of the NAA. She remains involved in UA’s Carl Elliott Society and the Blackburn Institute.

In her community work, Jolley serves on the board of directors of the Alabama Civil Justice Foundation, Voices for Alabama’s Children, Alabama 4-H Club Foundation and the Alabama Poverty Project.

Clements received his undergraduate degree from the University in 1963, followed by a law degree in 1966. Clements has served as committee chair, vice-president and president of the Jefferson County UA Alumni Chapter, chairman of the Denny Chimes Restoration Fund Campaign, NAA district vice president, on the board of directors of the Alabama Law School Foundation and as a member of the President’s Cabinet.

He was president of the National Alumni Association from 1993-1994 and the NAA reached $1 million in scholarship funds under his supervision.

In his community work, Clements has served on the board of directors of the Birmingham Kiwanis Club, the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame, the Birmingham Area Chamber of Commerce and the Birmingham Visitors and Convention Bureau.

The NAA also recognized and honored students in the senior class. The students have excelled in academics and extracurricular activities, shown strength of char- acter and maturity and displayed exceptional hospitality toward guests and friends of the University.

The recipients of the 2008 Alumni Student Award included Michelle L. McGaha of Albertville and Dylan Whisenhunt of Vestavia Hills.

The 2008 Alumni Outstanding Senior Award winners included Philip Adam Harbison of Crane Hill, Jack “Trey” Hayes III of Brilliant, Joan-Marie Manolakis of Prattville, Tim E. Neunzig of Tuscaloosa, Sarah Reichwein of Cullman, Renee Nicole Rivas of Richardson, Texas, Mary-Kathryn Sewell of Helena, Jackson Switzer of Gulfport, Miss., Andrew Vincent of Birmingham and Jennifer Nichole Wheelus of Northport.